Before I really started to research on the internet I didn’t really think there was a need or use for social media in the classroom.  This is because my idea of social media is checking up on friends on Facebook, but so far I have really gotten some great ideas about how to connect this new multimedia that students use all the time to their learning and the curriculum.  In this article I found cool ways to use social media to teach. 100 ways to use social media. Some of the neatest ideas were getting the students to do a character study from a book or a play by starting that character a Facebook page, following famous people maybe politicians on Twitter or   having a treasure hunt using all the forms of social media you include in your classroom. Since I am such a huge fan of travel and learning about new cultures I would love to explore connecting with classrooms around the world.  I am not sure if it counts as social networking but I love the idea of skyping people into my classroom.

I think one thing I have learned the most in this class that I will use in my classroom is to check things out and try them.  Using social media may be amazing in my classroom or it may not work with my teaching style.  I waant to try it and search out the benefits and options that I may have.

