Tech Task #3

I listened to a speech on TED talk about Arts and Science.  Mae Jemison talks about how we need to go back to connecting the arts and science.  Mae Jemison is the first African American women to go onto space she graduated Stanford with a Chemical engineering degree and went on to med school.  When she finished her degree at Stanford she wanted to either go to med school or go to New York to pursue a professional dance career.  She mentions that her mother helped her with that decision.  She talks about how science is creative and that arts is analytical.  Both arts and sciences are constructive and deconstructive depending on the strand of art or science.  She has a great quote near the end of the talk.  “Science provides an understanding of a universal experience and art provides a universal understanding of a personal experience”  I love how she connects the two which so many people view as total opposites.

I have often struggled with my passion for art and science at the same time.  Science was always my favorite subject in school but outside of school I spent 20 hours or more at dance lessons and performances.   In the end I made the opposite choice of Mae and went to university to get my BFA in dance which has lead me back to school for my BED.  Jokes on me.  When I was at Simon Fraser University I considered getting a minor in chemistry which was impossible because all labs and dance classes were at the same time.  When I would talk about my passion for science especially chemistry people would think I was crazy.  I think the stereotype was always there dancers can’t do science and aren’t very smart and scientist can’t move.  I obviously disagree with these claims but I think some people still think that way.  I think I sometimes loose people when I tell them I am in Arts Education.  What’s That?  What will you teach?  Some people even in the university treat it as less of an education that the elementary or middle years program because it has art in the title.

Mae can help us see the connection between art and science and this can open our minds to the connection that art has to all subjects.

This talk spoke to me and helped me realize there are many dancers out there that are also science nerds at heart.  Thanks you Mae.

